It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:49 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 96 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
Smotter
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:52 am
Posts: 4221
Location: Jo'burg, South Africa
Reputation: 1

Alan wrote:
Oh crap i've dropped a bollock! I disn't see the second page of the topic where everyone said they found out about the brake fluid in their owners manuals. To make it worse my reply ended up sounding really snotty! Guess I owe you all an apology for being a dick, sorry lads :colors:


No harm done mate; it's good to hear an unbiased 2nd opinion to confirm our suspicions ...

All input is gratefully accepted !

8)

_________________
Image
"Powerful enough to turn goat piss into gasoline !"


Top
 Profile  
 
Alan
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:54 am
Posts: 170
Location: wirral
Reputation: 0

Thanx mate that's very nice of you. cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
ph3n1x
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:31 pm
Posts: 595
Location: Belgium
Reputation: 1

i am gonna get dot5 in mine, it is based on silicon :P
not that corrosive.
Dot5.1 is (corosive)
Expecting arrival of brakes this week


Top
 Profile  
 
teen37
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:26 am
Posts: 23
Location: west midlands
Reputation: 0

hi there, just read all this lot and am now worried about mine. i have checked my original manual and it says to only use dot3. i know that my brake fluid has not been changed in at least 18months - 2 years so i should probly get it changed pronto eh? but what brake fluid to use now? is it really hard to get this dot 3 then? please advise on what is the best to get.


Top
 Profile  
 
GOGOBROOM
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:40 pm
Posts: 7299
Location: Hampshire
Reputation: 26

you should be fine on Dot 4 I believe :D


somebody correct me if I m wrong ;)

_________________
The gogo has defected
Image
http://www.briefs4u.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
Murray
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 2:54 pm
Posts: 6815
Location: Everywhere
Reputation: 22

doesn't Stu use castrol response dot4?

as i was thinking of getting the same soon :wink:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
andym323
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:27 am 
Club Secretary Offline
User avatar

My Car: Meanie

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 4:24 am
Posts: 11262
Location: In my own little world!
Reputation: 21

Murray wrote:
doesn't Stu use castrol response dot4?

as i was thinking of getting the same soon :wink:


He does, and so am I :thumbright:

_________________
Image

May all your F'ing dreams come true! (lottery won and a miracle wouldn't go amiss!!!)

I got hooooooles, they're multiplying :(

And nice shiny new V6 to play with


Top
 Profile  
 
stuartspel
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:28 am 
Moderator Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:14 pm
Posts: 4747
Reputation: 42

Castrol SUPER Response :thumbup:


Top
 Profile  
 
Murray
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 2:54 pm
Posts: 6815
Location: Everywhere
Reputation: 22

stuartspel wrote:
Castrol SUPER Response :thumbup:


haha i did see this also on one of the sites i was looking at :wink:

got any good places that have it for a good price?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
stuartspel
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:26 pm 
Moderator Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:14 pm
Posts: 4747
Reputation: 42

You can get it from Opie Oils via ebay - 2 litres for £24 delivered AND if you check out the discount section there is money off too for Goldies

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Castrol-Response-Super-DOT4-Synthetic-Brake-Fluid-2L_W0QQitemZ170071632364QQihZ007QQcategoryZ72205QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item170071632364


Top
 Profile  
 
Murray
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 2:54 pm
Posts: 6815
Location: Everywhere
Reputation: 22

how many litres do we need again?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
stuartspel
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:44 pm 
Moderator Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:14 pm
Posts: 4747
Reputation: 42

The brake fluid capacity is really tiny, its the flushing thats a waste, I have managed 2 complete system flush/refill & bleed out of a 1lt container and still have a splash left. The link above is only for 2lt pots though.


Top
 Profile  
 
Smotter
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:52 am
Posts: 4221
Location: Jo'burg, South Africa
Reputation: 1

Don't be shy with flushing - a couple of quids worth of brake fluid is nothing compared to the hassle of having to replace the seals if the fluid goes off and wears the seals out !!!

_________________
Image
"Powerful enough to turn goat piss into gasoline !"


Top
 Profile  
 
Matt
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:56 pm 
Trade & Discount Manager Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 2:48 am
Posts: 7512
Reputation: 76

how often should this be done??

_________________
My NA BA -:- "BA->BPT PROJECT" BREAKING THREAD


Top
 Profile  
 
Murray
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 4:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 2:54 pm
Posts: 6815
Location: Everywhere
Reputation: 22

right so 2lt should be plenty for a flush out and refill then?

think its meant to be every two years, but im not sure when it was last done on mine and i want to make use of all the handling mods when i get them fitted eventually :wink:

oh and 3k posts!!! wohoo! :cheers:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
parvez
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 4:23 pm 
..welcome to the 3k+ posts club Murray :D


Top
   
 
stuartspel
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 4:23 pm 
Moderator Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:14 pm
Posts: 4747
Reputation: 42

Murray wrote:
...think its meant to be every two years,


Yep - spot on :thumbup:


Top
 Profile  
 
da2el
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 11:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:47 am
Posts: 2702
Location: Portugal
Reputation: 10

today found a bottle of an old brake fluid my father have at home
Galp (portuguese brand) Travia 4
it says is DOT 3 and DOT 4 accepted so now no worries about it


Top
 Profile  
 
Smotter
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 7:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:52 am
Posts: 4221
Location: Jo'burg, South Africa
Reputation: 1

da2el wrote:
today found a bottle of an old brake fluid my father have at home
Galp (portuguese brand) Travia 4
it says is DOT 3 and DOT 4 accepted so now no worries about it


I hope it's sealed; if not, then it'll be contaminated, and you should throw it away and buy a new one ..... :|

_________________
Image
"Powerful enough to turn goat piss into gasoline !"


Top
 Profile  
 
da2el
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 9:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:47 am
Posts: 2702
Location: Portugal
Reputation: 10

Smotter wrote:
da2el wrote:
today found a bottle of an old brake fluid my father have at home
Galp (portuguese brand) Travia 4
it says is DOT 3 and DOT 4 accepted so now no worries about it


I hope it's sealed; if not, then it'll be contaminated, and you should throw it away and buy a new one ..... :|


it is well closed but I've my doubts because it is such old
looks very clean inside and was kept in the basement


Top
 Profile  
 
Eire323f
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 2:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:52 pm
Posts: 2609
Location: West Coast, Ireland
Reputation: 29

Can you use dot 4 to top up on what I pressume is dot 3 in the resevoir or do I have to drain the system and start from scratch?


Top
 Profile  
 
andym323
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 3:10 pm 
Club Secretary Offline
User avatar

My Car: Meanie

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 4:24 am
Posts: 11262
Location: In my own little world!
Reputation: 21

No you can mix them, modern DOT 4 is a direct replacement for DOT 3 :D:D

_________________
Image

May all your F'ing dreams come true! (lottery won and a miracle wouldn't go amiss!!!)

I got hooooooles, they're multiplying :(

And nice shiny new V6 to play with


Top
 Profile  
 
steven
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 9:15 pm 
Scottish Events Organiser Offline
User avatar

My Car: 1998 Imola

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:07 pm
Posts: 4987
Location: Cowdenbeath, Fife SCOTLAND
Reputation: 76

just topped up my fluid today used dot 3 as it says on the cap!

_________________
11r Cars are the fastest


Top
 Profile  
 
Roc
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 4:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:04 am
Posts: 1841
Location: Exeter, Devon
Reputation: 46

swelch wrote:
just topped up my fluid today used dot 3 as it says on the cap!


DOT 4 is backwards compatible with DOT 3, but better quality.

DOT 3 will be just fine though.

_________________
Image
Mark - www.fordprobestore.co.uk or www.mazda323f.co.uk - FPS - 323F Specialist.


Top
 Profile  
 
Gheorghian Florin
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:39 pm
Posts: 79
Reputation: 0

I had a problem with this dot 4.Had to replace the clutch piston because of it.It wasn't expensive but I had no clutch pedal.Put back in Dot 3 fluid,the mechanic seed.Read what spells on the reservoir fluid cap.USE ONLY DOT 3 FLUID.
Dot 3 it's thicker then Dot 4.


Top
 Profile  
 
magz212
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:53 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Dundonald (scotland)
Reputation: 2

i topped my brake fluid up with castrol dot4 and the warning light went off


Top
 Profile  
 
barreljan
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 4:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 624
Location: Wieringerwerf, The Netherlands
Reputation: 1

I have Dot5.1 (from Brega) fluid in the system for a year now. Its incredible stuff on the tracks, I didnt had it boiling yet ;) Seems to be holding fine with al the brake parts.

_________________
'95: 323F BA 2.5 V6 J-spec @ 290 pk/ 322 nm


Running a turbo boosted 323F in the pro-street class of the Dutch Time Attack series
2.5v6/ksport coilovers/ksport 330mm-8pot/60mm exhaust/mfactory lsd/fidanza and more...

Top
 Profile  
 
andym323
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:13 pm 
Club Secretary Offline
User avatar

My Car: Meanie

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 4:24 am
Posts: 11262
Location: In my own little world!
Reputation: 21

DOT5.1 has cost me SIX blown calipers in th elast 2.5 years, bloody rubbish, just binned it for DOT4 and its miles better, going to Super 4 soon :D

_________________
Image

May all your F'ing dreams come true! (lottery won and a miracle wouldn't go amiss!!!)

I got hooooooles, they're multiplying :(

And nice shiny new V6 to play with


Top
 Profile  
 
barreljan
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 624
Location: Wieringerwerf, The Netherlands
Reputation: 1

how the ... did you do that? thats very weird that you have 6 in 2,5 and I nothing in say 1 year. Euh? :scratch:

_________________
'95: 323F BA 2.5 V6 J-spec @ 290 pk/ 322 nm


Running a turbo boosted 323F in the pro-street class of the Dutch Time Attack series
2.5v6/ksport coilovers/ksport 330mm-8pot/60mm exhaust/mfactory lsd/fidanza and more...

Top
 Profile  
 
Marc S
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:05 am 
UK Events Manager Offline
User avatar

My Car: 1st Gen RX7

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:46 am
Posts: 13779
Location: "Rust?...I ain't got time to rust"
Reputation: 95

andym323 wrote:
DOT5.1 has cost me SIX blown calipers in th elast 2.5 years, bloody rubbish, just binned it for DOT4 and its miles better, going to Super 4 soon :D


In what way is it miles better? better braking? bit early to tell if it's solved your leaking calipers problem, surely?

_________________
Image

Paragon Auto Finishing
Professional vehicle detailing & valeting, specialising in paint correction and enhancement
Servicing, repairs, and undersealing also available
Discounts available for Gold Members :)


Top
 Profile Facebook  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 96 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y